| home | history | latest news | membership |

Welcome to Czech-Slovak Philately

History of Czechoslovakia


Czechoslovakia in 1928-1938

Czechoslovakia was established in 1918, at the end of World War I. It ceased to exist at the beginning of 1993 when the country fractured into its two main administrative divisions, the Czech Republic and Slovakia. With the fall of the Austro-Hungarian Empire after World War I, the Czech lands and Slovakia jointly proclaimed the establishment of independent Czechoslovakia on October 28, 1918. Prague became the capital of the country and the Prague Castle became the seat of the first president of Czechoslovakia, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk.

Hence we can speak of the 1st Republic from 1918 till 1939, the 2nd Republic from 1945 till 1969 and the 3rd Republic from 1969 till 1993. During the 2nd World War Czechoslovakia was named the Protectorate Bohemia and Moravia and under German rule.